Subscribe to our RSS feed

Bahamian Politics

Image: Bahamas Ministry of TourismOn 7 January 1964 The Bahamas received its first written constitution, in which Bahamians were granted virtually full control over their internal affairs, with the British Governor retaining responsibility for external affairs, defence and internal security. Cabinet government was introduced for the first time.

A most significant change occurred in 1969 with a new constitution whereby the British Government agreed to entrust matters dealing with internal security and external affairs to the Bahamas Government.

The final constitutional change was consummated on 20 June 1973 when the British Parliament enacted the Bahamas Independence Order 1973 granting The Bahamas full independence. On 10 July 1973, the Commonwealth of The Bahamas became a sovereign independent state, and chose to remain a member of the Commonwealth. Today it remains a member of the Commonwealth, the United Nations, the Caribbean Community, and the Organization of American States.

Image: Bahamas Ministry of TourismUnder former Prime Minister the Right Honourable Sir Lynden Pindling, who died August 26, 2000, The Bahamas was governed by the Progressive Liberal Party for more than a quarter of a century, having won successive general elections in 1967, 1968, 1972, 1977, 1982 and 1987. The Free National Movement won the general election of 1992 and, under the leadership of Prime Minister the Right Honourable Hubert A. Ingraham, won the 1997 poll as well. The Right Honourable Perry G. Christie, Leader of the Progressive Liberal Party, was elected to office in May, 2002. After the 2007 general elections, the Free National Movement, once again under the leadership of Prime Minister, the Right Hon. Hubert A. Ingraham, returned to office. 

On 7 May 2012, the Bahamian electorate returned the Progressive Liberal Party to the Government.  The Right Honourable Perry G. Christie was sworn in as the nation's fifth Prime Minister on 8 May 2012.

For more information, please visit the following sites:

Bahamas Government

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Progressive Liberal Party

Free National Movement

Democratic National Alliance