Subscribe to our RSS feed

General Information

The High Commission of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas was first established in 1970. Seven people have served as High Commissioners since then:

The current High Commissioner is H.E. Eldred E Bethel

The High Commission is located in Bahamas House, which also accommodates one other Government Department: The Bahamas Tourist Office.

The High Commission's official address is as follows:

High Commission of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas
10 Chesterfield Street
London W1J 5JL

Tel: +44 (0)20 7408 4488 Fax: +44 (0)20 7499 9937


The High Commission is open Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., during which time it remains open to the public. Visa hours are between 10:00a.m. and 1:00 p.m.

Appointments can be made for Passport enrollment Monday through Friday between 2:00 p.m and 4:00 p.m.

Diplomatic Staff

His Excellency Mr. Eldred E Bethel
High Commissioner (since 17 December 2012)
(Mrs. Dawne Bethel, spouse)

Miss Allison Booker
Deputy High Commissioner

Mr. Wilfred Adderley II
Second Secretary/Vice Consul

Miss Aklia Ingraham
Third Secretary

Mr Marche Mackey
Third Secretary

Miss Syann Thompson
Press Attaché

Miss Verinique Joseph
Finance Attaché


Administrative and Technical Staff

Mrs Chinita Khan

Miss Evanya Major

Miss Cherilynn Wood

Mrs. Carmen Fernando

Mr. Michael Wilson

Mr. Leonard Wanigaratne

Mrs. Eleanor Montano

Ms. Carolyn Umoso

Mr. Nestor Montoya