Subscribe to our RSS feed

Bahamas-EU "Short Stay Visa Waiver" - REMINDER

On 28 May 2009, the Commonwealth of The Bahamas and the European Union signed a "Short Stay Visa Waiver Agreement". The Agreement was provisionally applied since 28 May 2009 and came into full force on 1 April 2010. Therefore, since 28 May 2009 holders of valid Bahamian passports have been able to travel without a visa for short stays of up to three months to the following European Union countries which apply the Schengen agreement:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Cyprus
  5. Czech Republic
  6. Denmark
  7. Estonia
  8. Finland
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Greece
  12. Hungary
  13. Italy
  14. Latvia
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Poland
  20. Portugal
  21. Romania
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden


Additionally, Bahamians may travel without a visa to the United Kingdom, Ireland and Switzerland for short stays.

The agreement does not yet apply to Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, as while they are members of the Schengen area they are not EU members. 

 For the purposes of the Agreement, short stays are considered as visits for the following purposes:

You may find the EU decision on the signature and provisional application of the visa waiver agreement on the Official EU  Journal at the following link: